Recipe // spinach pie

Spinach. Until last week I was convinced I hated it. All I thought of when the word came up was Popeye. Also, I am slightly above average picky when it comes to greens. So I just never tried it out. But last wednesday (yes, bare with me for writing about something that happened last week – how can I?!), my friend Vilde and I were having dinner/supper together, and she suggested that we should try making a spinach pie.

Spinach pie? Did you just say spinach pie? I was baffled. Was this an actual dish?

I think I said yes. Because about an hour later we had bought the ingredients and were making … a spinach pie.
Recipe adapted from here (Norwegian).

This is what we needed
Crust:
150 grams of butter
200 grams of flour
2-3 tbsp of water

Filling:
250 grams of fresh spinach
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1 clove of garlic
Olive oil for cooking
6-8 sun-dried tomatoes (warning: even if you love tomatoes,
do not go overboard with these tomatoes. they were saltyyy.
but you probably know that. rookie mistake on our part maybe.)
150 grams of feta cheese, diced
3 eggs
2,5 dl milk
Salt & pepper
Some chopped basil

First, Vilde made the pie crust about an hour ahead of time and put it in the fridge. Crumble the flour and butter together, and then the water. Wrap it in saran wrap and put it in the fridge for at least an hour.
Cover the pie dish with the dough and poke it with a fork. Put it in the oven at 200 degrees (celcius) for 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile you make the filling.

Fry the onions until they are soft and golden. Add the spinach (rinsed and fresh) and fry. Pour it over the pie dish and also cover it all with feta cheese and tomatoes. Wisk together the eggs, chopped basil, milk, salt and pepper. Pour the blend over the pie crust and bake at 200 degrees (yep, still celcius!) for 30-40 minutes.

Can you believe that I LOVED THIS? Slightly too salty (our bad, we went completely wild with the sun-dried tomatoes, we will stick to the recipe next time), but other than that it was so good. So good. And this coming from a girl who is picky about vegetables! So honestly, this dish is one you have to try! Healthy and ridiculously tasty!

And so, to put it in Rachael Ray’s own words: That’s what’s for dinner tonight! I’ll see ya when I see ya!

(For å se oppskriften på norsk, klikk på linken over ingrediensene! Bon appetit!)

