recipes // pink ombre vanilla cake

I’m a girl. So obviously I like pink. And when we decided to throw a big birthday bash for the seven girls in our class whose birthdays are in November, I had to make a pink cake. A pink ombre cake. I did this once before at a friend’s baby shower (she had a beautiful baby girl on sunday!), and it turned our really good.

And so for you, here is the deliciousness that is the pink ombre vanilla cake!
Recipe adapted from here. (Norwegian)

This is what you need:
230 grams of butter
900 grams of sugar
2 tsp of salt
870 grams of flour
6 tsp of baking powder
7 dl ice-water
4 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond essence
8 egg whites

This is what you do:
Preheat your oven to 175°C (350°F).
Mix the butter and sugar in a bowl with an electric mixer.

Blend flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl. Get your ice-water and fold the water and flour mix into the butter- and sugar blend. Stir until everything is well blended. Add the vanilla extract and almond essence. Whisk your egg whites stiff, and fold it into the batter. Divide the batter into four equally large bowls. Keep the first one as is, add a little more pink food coloring in the other three bowls. There should be three different shades of pink now, and one plain vanilla.Use a 22 cm baking tin and cook the cake bottoms at 175 degrees for about 27-30 minutes (5-10 minutes longer if they are not done at 30 minutes. But put a piece of baking sheet over the cake so it does not burn.) Obviously the first layer is in the oven at this picture.

Now, this is the part when I have to confess to something. I tired like 4 different icing recipes, and I hated them all. They just were not good. At all. So I cheated a bit. Cue Betty Crocker…

This stuff is really good, and the texture is perfect. So, since I was short of time (and patience) I used this rich and creamy vanilla icing. I put a thin layer of icing between each cake layer, and covered the outside completely. Added a little dark and white chocolate sprinkles on top, and voila!
Two and a half hours later your cake is done! Yes, it takes a while to make this cake (especially if you have only one cake tin like me and have to clean it between each layer), but it’s so worth it when your friends cut into the cake and go: “Whoah..!” I enjoyed that😉

And since this is a really big cake, you know you are going to have leftovers the next day! Sooo BONUS!
Happy cooking!

